Taco Plate

Taco Plate has been a family recipe since I was a kid 🙂 It was always a comfort food that tasted delicious! My mom would make it for my birthday or special occasions eventually we would even have it for dinner. Nowadays even my husband loves this for dinner and will request it some nights especially when we want a quick go to. Not only does it taste good, but has almost all the necessary food groups including dairy, vegetables and protein.

I begin the recipe by taking 1/2 of a cream cheese block and putting it on a microwavable plate. Put it in the microwave for about 35 seconds until the cream cheese softens. Then add taco seasoning- I just eye ball it until it looks right until a pinkish color after stirring it around and then smooth it out on the plate for an even layer.

From there take your favorite salsa and spread it on top evenly. Then grate your favorite kind of cheese (we usually use sharp cheddar). Then put the layer of cheese on top of the salsa. My parents always had different ways of doing it my dad put the cheese on this way, but my mom put it on top of the lettuce. Anyway works well 🙂

Next chop up some lettuce and tomatoes (I use cherry tomatoes because I like the natural sweetness). Then add the lettuce on top and then top with the tomatoes. We have part with and without tomatoes because my husband only likes tomatoes warm (still working on changing that! lol). We top with a little ground pepper and enjoy! Usually we serve with Doritos or Tostitos, but you could use any other chip or even other vegetables would be good too! 🙂

I hope you enjoy this recipe! Feel free to use it on Super Bowl Sunday next weekend! 🙂

Thank you for reading along with any comments or likes ❤

 

 

Leave a Reply

