Tangy General Tso Chicken

After getting sick on Monday right in time for the work week :/ I’ve been struggling to push through the rest of the week, but am happy to say I am finally starting to feel better today and my husband is basically all better now- That Chicken Vegetable Soup really helps! On the rise of feeling better, I couldn’t help but think about another one of my favorite comfort foods we make- General Tso Chicken 🙂

I began this recipe after going out to so many take out restaurants. Sometimes you don’t feel as healthy or satisfied with the deep fried dish or find cartilage or bones…so I decided to make my own version where I am able to cook the chicken the way we enjoy it along with giving it a healthy spin and I don’t miss the take out version at all! Every time we want General Tso now we go back to this recipe 🙂

I begin the recipe by cooking 1 or 2 chicken breasts in the oven- I used 2 this time around so you may want to make a little extra sauce or watch out how long you cook the sauce for usually perfect amount for 1 chicken breast (you can see the way I prepare them by looking back at previous recipes including BBQ Pulled Chicken). After the chicken cooks, I allow them to cool. Next I begin preparing the white rice (can use brown rice as well) by putting 1 1/2 cups of water and 1 1/2 cups of white rice in our steamer. From there I click the white rice button and allow it to cook until the beeper goes off. (If you don’t have a rice cooker or steamer I definitely recommend getting one they are amazing!)

From there I begin the Tso Sauce- in a sauce pan combine 2 tbsp honey, 4 tbsp ketchup, 2 tbsp white distilled vinegar, 2 tbsp soy sauce, ground black pepper (I just eyeball it), and red pepper flakes (I eyeball those as well- if you want it spicy use a good amount if you want it less spicy use a smaller amount). Then whisk the mixture together over medium heat until it begins bubbling from there continue cooking for a minute or 2. In the meantime, I slice the chicken and then shred the chicken with my hands and place it into the sauce pan to allow it to get incorporated with the sauce.

This time that we made the dish, I took the easy route and cooked a steamable in the microwave that contained carrots, cauliflower and broccoli. However, sometimes we will cut up fresh vegetables and steam them over the stove including broccoli and red peppers. Then the building of dinner begins by splitting the rice into fours and place one of those in a bowl top with some ground black pepper. Then top with the vegetables and chicken…yum! 🙂

I hope you enjoy my take on General Tso Chicken as much as we do! 🙂

Thanks for reading along with any comments or likes ❤

 

 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Debbie says:

    Looks fabulous!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you Debbie!!! 🙂

    Like

  3. This sounds really good, I think I will make it this weekend. Sorry to hear you were sick , hope you’re feeling well now.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Awww thanks Mary 🙂 it’s been a bummer being sick but on my way to getting better lol Sounds good! Let me know how you like the recipe 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

