Heartwarming Chocolate Chip Cookies

One of the first desserts I made homemade growing up were Chocolate Chip Cookies they were my absolute favorite and still are to this day 🙂 I remember watching my dad making them growing up and waiting to lick the spatula- I was always excited 🙂 I still love watching my dad cook and bake in the kitchen, I have so many wonderful memories there that I will soon miss.

cookies 3
My dad and I when I was little 🙂 We go boating and swimming every year 🙂

Over the past 2 years my parents have been in the process of separation and last year went into the divorce process. It is almost finalized unfortunately 😦 It has probably been the most rocky 2 1/2 years of my life I wish so badly things would go back to how they used to be even though there were still problems then, but now it feels like everything is so messed up that I don’t know if we will all be able to come together again as a family which makes me super sad 😦

Anyways back to my happy thoughts (sometimes I think about that when I have happy thoughts). This Chocolate Chip Cookie recipe is based off of the original, but I do put a spin on it- instead of all purpose flour I use whole wheat, and instead of semi sweet chocolate chips I use milk chocolate chips (my favorite 🙂 ). You can use any chocolate chips you want- I have used white, milk and semi sweet before all are good I prefer the last two, but my husband loves white chocolate. You can also add other fun things to the cookies we usually add nuts I love pecans, almonds and cashews. 🙂 For Christmas 2 years ago we took food color gel and turned the dough different colors and did cut outs that the family really enjoyed. We also did our take on the Pizza Hut cookie and made a giant one in the cheesecake pan. 🙂

I begin the recipe by beating together 1 cup of unsalted butter, 1/2 cup granulated sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar until light and fluffy. Then I add in 2 eggs (one at a time) until mixed well. Then I add in 1 teaspoon baking soda, 1 teaspoon salt and 1 teaspoon vanilla until mixed well. Next gradually add in 2 cups of whole wheat flour (1/2 cup at a time). Lastly add in the chocolate chips its always estimated for 1 1/2 cups, but sometimes I add a little more.

100_4343

Once the batter is done, take a cookie sheet sprayed with flour butter spray and use a baby ice cream scooper. You can use a bigger one if you like, but make sure to press down the cookies so they bake evenly and don’t burn. I also like to add a few on top just so you can see the chocolate chips 🙂

100_4345

Then bake the cookies in the oven at 375 degrees for about 5-7 minutes or until they are golden brown. Cooking time may vary, I have always noticed that the other batches sometimes bake faster than the first couple. Once they are done baking place the cookie sheet on the cooling rack for 2 minutes and then take them off of the cookie sheet with a small spatula and transfer onto the cooling rack until fully cooled. Be careful not to place one on top of the other when they are hot otherwise they will stick to one another.

100_4361

Serve up with a glass of milk and enjoy! Hope you enjoy these cookies as much as we have this week 🙂

100_4347

Thank you for reading along with any comments or likes ❤

Leave a Reply

