Rockin Rocky Road Brownies

Today I am able to share this unbelievable brownie recipe that I absolutely love! I had to keep it a secret for a day or two since I brought them with me to work today for my trainer’s surprise potluck going away party-these were definitely a hit! I got many compliments on them and my husband was begging me to keep more at home last night when we tried a couple out 😉 lol

 

Ski 2
With Mother’s Day on Sunday can’t help, but think about my wonderful mom and all that she has done and given me I couldn’t be more grateful! Best mom in the world 🙂

 

These brownies are thick and fudgy with a sweet frosting, marshmallows and cashews- you can’t help but want another one. 🙂 This recipe is inspired by one of my favorite cookbooks Taste of Home Baking and based off of the Chocolaty Rocky Road Brownies. As you know I have to put my own spin on the recipe-I used cashews instead of peanuts, skim milk instead of 2%, whole wheat flour instead of all-purpose flour, and traded out some of the chocolate I used semi sweet chocolate chips in the batter that eliminated the unsweetened chocolate and cut down the amount of sugar that was called for.

We began the recipe by melting 1 cup of semi sweet chocolate chips and 1 cup of unsalted butter in a large bowl in the microwave. Continue to cook at 30 second intervals until everything is melted, stirring each time. In the meantime prep the cashews, I chopped 1/2 cup for the batter and another 1/2 cup for the frosting. Once the mixture is done cooking, add in 1 cup granulated sugar, 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract and 3 eggs one at a time (be careful at first with the mixture on the hotter side you want to mix as fast as possible so they don’t turn into scrambled eggs). I have to say this is the first time in a while I decided to hand mix a recipe I usually use my cute pink mixer. 🙂

Lastly, add in 1 cup whole wheat flour (1/2 cup at a time) and 1/2 cup unsalted cashews. Then in a floured and butter sprayed pan pour in the mixture, and allow to cook at 350 degrees for about 23 minutes or until it comes out clean with a toothpick.

After the brownies are baked and cooling, we begin making the frosting in a small to medium saucepan that includes melting 1/4 cup unsalted butter, 3 ounces cream cheese, 2 squares unsweetened chocolate and 1/4 cup skim milk. Once the liquid is mostly melted mix in 2 3/4 cup confectioners sugar and 1 teaspoon vanilla extract. Don’t worry if there are small pieces of cream cheese left, take a hand mixer and beat until the frosting is smooth.

Next add in 1/2 cup unsalted cashews and 2 cups mini marshmallows. Then pour and evenly distribute the frosting over the brownies (best to do this when the mixture is still warm). Place in the refrigerator overnight and then cut into little bars. Best cold in my opinion, but can eat them at room temperature as well. 🙂

100_4394

I hope you enjoy these brownies as much as we are and everyone did today. 🙂 Would be a great Mother’s Day gift on Sunday! 🙂

mom
In celebration of Mother’s Day on Sunday a picture of me, my mom and brother when we were kids 🙂

Thank you for reading along with any comments or likes ❤

Leave a Reply

