Exploring the City of Des Moines

Happy Weekend Everyone! I hope everyone is enjoying this relaxing weekend (minus the packing over here and lots to do before our move on Friday!), but outside of all that I am hoping to relax a little bit. lol πŸ˜› I started off my weekend really nice after work by meeting one of my best friends at The Best Nails here in Menomonie where we got pedicures done it was a lot of fun and they turned out cute. πŸ™‚ Mine are the blue with the lilies in memory of my grandma. πŸ™‚

I have been reminiscing about trips I have taken over the past couple years while trying to decide what place to travel next for my husband and I’s wedding Anniversary (we are thinking of taking our trip early this year). We have a few ideas that we continue to go back and forth on please take my anonymous poll I have embedded to help us decide. Thank you for the help! πŸ™‚

Back on to my story about vacations I was thinking about the one we took last October to see my mother in law when she was living in Des Moines, Iowa. We had such a fun time visiting her we explored so much in just one weekend!

iowa 2

Started off with the road trip down there that was very nice and scenic. We went on lots of walks exploring the state capitalΒ we were even able to tour inside the buildings, which was really neat! They had a cute water fountain outside that you can throw quarters and pennies into that we did. πŸ™‚

iowa 3iowa 4iowa 15

We explored the down town area inside and outside. What I thought was really cool is how they have everything connected inside just incase it is raining or when there is a lot of snow you can travel everywhere with all of the buildings being connected. We enjoyed some great food we found a nice pub that I remember having a burger at. πŸ™‚ She knew the area very well so she took us on some great walks outside. They have some beautiful trails one led us to this really cool bridge that had lots of lights on it. πŸ™‚

iowa 6iowa 7

We also saw these famous bridges that they have seven of and toured them- it is based on a movie called The Bridges of Madison County that has her favorite actor Clint Eastwood in- that was neat to see. They even had some shops where you could buy the movie and it was playing when you went inside. Overall, our experience in Des Moines was a great one I would definitely go back it was definitely a trip to remember. ❀ πŸ™‚

iowa 5iowa 9

Thank you for reading along with any comments or likes ❀

 

Leave a Reply

