Peanut Butter Marshmallow Oat Bars

Hope everyone is having a wonderful weekend! I know life here has been busy we have been in the process of moving out and moving in the past couple weeks we are almost settled into our new Townhome! Very excited for everything to be unpacked and set up maybe a few days left. πŸ™‚ One of the main reasons we got this townhome was due to this awesome kitchen! So much more counter space for prepping and cooking, even have dedicated shelves for our baking. πŸ™‚

oat

We were finally able to bake for the first time in our new place on Friday. I haven’t made these Peanut Butter Marshmallow Oat Bars for a couple years now! We made these the first time after we just got married. One of our family friends gave us a HUGE crate of candy and that was the first time I had Peanut Butter M&Ms (since then they have become one of my favorite candies). From there I looked in my recipe book Taste of Home Baking and found the M&M oat bar recipe that we put our own spin on. We changed the flour and changed up the toppings.

Since my pretty pink mixer isn’t unpacked yet I used the hand mixer, which I found fun and was a lot less to clean up! I began by beating together 1 stick unsalted butter and 1 cup brown sugar. Then I added in one egg and 1 teaspoon vanilla extract. Next I gradually added in 1 1/4 cup whole wheat flour, 1/2 teaspoon baking soda and 1/2 teaspoon salt. Lastly, I added in 2 cups of oats (the first time we used 1 1/2 cups) either amount works both taste good! Then in a sprayed butter floured 13×9 pan I patted down the batter evenly andΒ baked for about 15 minutes in a 350 degree oven.

Once cooked add the toppings on including miniature marshmallows and peanut butter M&Ms- place back in the oven for a few minutes until the toppings are set on top of the bars. Note: If you forget to do this you can place in back in the oven and still allow to cook otherwise all your toppings won’t stick. Once the toppings are set allow to cool on the wire rack and drizzle on some melted peanut butter. Allow to sit in the refrigerator overnight and cut into bars the next day.

Serve with a glass of milk and enjoy! I had a great time eating mine in the beautiful weather yesterday on the patio. πŸ™‚

100_4417

Thank you for reading along with any comments or likes ❀

*I also wanted to thank the 3 people who voted in my previous poll we took your opinion into account for deciding where to go on our next Anniversary Trip πŸ™‚ *

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Alyssa says:

    Oh my goodness, these look delicious! I want to make these now. Have you tried the ones where you melt peanut butter and butter together and wait for it to cool, and then pour the mix over coloured marshmallows? Those would be good with M&Ms on top too.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you!!! πŸ™‚ You should they are delicious and quick to make! I haven’t tried that before but it sounds super good! I will have to try that πŸ™‚ Yes that would be awesome with M&Ms especially the peanut butter ones lol

    Like

  3. These bars look so good, and fairly easy too! I hope your weekend was good and not too stressful. So it looks like I missed the voting on your trip 😦 . Where are you going?

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Thanks Mary!!! They are πŸ™‚ Wasn’t too bad got a lot done was sad been struggling a little bit but I’m hanging in their despite everything lol You can still vote if you want we are still deciding but after talking we may do something more low key with the move and everything we are exhausted and with some planned future expenses sometime this year want to save a little money too πŸ˜‰ we were thinking of doing a camping trip maybe in Michigan or Minnesota were thinking of Mackinaw Island πŸ™‚ Any suggestions?

    Like

  5. Maybe somewhere up by Duluth MN, there are a lot of great natural beauty to see. I would guess that there are a lot of great camping areas there.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I love Duluth we went there a few years ago like you said so beautiful! I will have to check into that as well thanks πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

