Sweetheart Chicken Vegetable Soup

This week was overwhelming with so many different emotions and changes going on including starting a new job, waking up 2 hours earlier, commuting an hour more every day, having to change my workout routine, going from part time to full time, and most importantly not going back to my old workplace where I was surrounded by friends who were very supportive and a job that I was comfortable at was one of the hardest changes of all. By the end of the week I began to adjust and was excited for the weekend to be here- however, my sweetheart began to get sick with a cold due to all of these changes happening for him as well along with this horrible weather up here in Wisconsin- ready for Spring! 🙂

Today on my first day off since my new job, I decided making a homemade Chicken Vegetable Soup would help get him better in no time! Usually, I enjoy making cream based soups, but when I began thinking about the ways we could accommodate to what we like it sounded super good! A nice flavorful chicken broth with our favorite seasonings with baked chicken, broccoli, carrots and potatoes sounded like a hearty feel good soup!

I took a look at the Better Homes and Gardens New Cook Book 15th Edition to see what kinds of chicken soups they had I found the Chicken Noodle Vegetable Soup, but ended up completely transforming the recipe into my own. The only things I used in their recipe were the chicken broth, cream of chicken soup, black pepper, and carrots- I did use chicken as well but I used breasts instead of the legs and thighs that they called for.

I began by spraying my crockpot with non-stick cooking spray. Then we poured in a 10.5 ounce can of condensed cream of chicken soup along with two 14.5 ounce cans of chicken broth and 2 cups of water. From there we added in the spices including 1 teaspoon garlic powder, 1 teaspoon Italian seasoning and black pepper (I just eyeball it with the amount we like). Use a rubber spatula and stir the mixture together.

Next, we added in 1 bag of baby carrots. Then cut up about 6 potatoes and 3 heads of broccoli that we added to the pot and stirred the vegetables around to make sure they were all coated in liquid. From there we turned on the crockpot to high and set it for 2 hours.

After 2 hours we shredded and added the 2 chicken breasts we cooked in the oven. (If you want to view how I made the chicken breasts look back to my post of the Pulled BBQ Chicken I made). From there we continued to cook on high for an additional 2 to 3 hours until the potatoes could be cut with a spoon and the mixture was boiling.

Finally, serve up a nice ladle full into a bowl and enjoy! We loved the fresh taste of the vegetables and chicken along with the spicy and flavorful taste of the broth 🙂 I can already see my sweetheart getting better and we have some delicious leftovers to continue throughout the week to keep him going!

100_4135

Thank you for reading along with any comments or likes ❤

Leave a Reply

