Wedding Advice before “I DO”

Before I dive into some advice on wedding planning and things to keep in mind on the day; I thought I would update you on our new place I have finally completed the unpacking and organizing of our things I am super excited!!!!! Took a little bit over a month, but I feel a weight lifted off of my shoulders today. Now all I have to do is wait for my husband to come home to hang up a few things and then we are all good to go- pictures soon to come. πŸ™‚

day 10

On to my advice since I have been a bride almost 2 years ago now, August 15, 2015. πŸ™‚ I was also a maid of honor last weekend at my best friend’s wedding. I have learned so much through my wedding along with hers and a few others that I have attended. I was even my best friends go to person for advice and planning, which was really fun. πŸ™‚ So I thought I would give a few tips to any other women or men who are planning a wedding right now or getting ready for their summer wedding. πŸ™‚

Number #1: Make Your Guests Feel Special

This is the one thing I wish I could go back and do a little bit better. The day becomes crazy with getting ready, last minute set ups, pictures, ceremony, cake cutting, dancing along with every other thing that you don’t get a chance to talk to everyone. I wish on my day I could’ve; I hate feeling that someone important to me felt like I didn’t care enough to talk to them when I wanted to. However, I did feel like we did the best we could outside of everything else we took the time to speak to as many people as we could outside of the “congratulations” line and continued to do that throughout the night.

Number #2: Choose Someone Who Knows You As The Officiant

This would be the biggest mistake of our wedding. We chose a man who we didn’t know that well, but was into church things that my mom thought would get officiated to marry us. He was awful! No matter how many times we told him what we did or didn’t want he did the things we didn’t want and made me cry on the day after yelling at me because he was forcing my husbands brother and my best friend to read something they didn’t want to read. Definitely choose and meet with someone who envisions what you want. That is what my best friend did after she saw what happened at ours and her ceremony was wonderful. πŸ™‚

day 3

Number #3: Stay True To Yourself

So many times people want to go with what is trending or see what others are doing, but stay true to yourself and the couple that you are. πŸ™‚ One thing I really like about our day is that we did things that we wanted and what we envisioned on our own. I always pictured getting married where I grew up on the lake with my family and family friends surrounding me; that is exactly what we did and loved! We did things in our relationship that represented us like the cradle carrying is our signature thing as a couple; that is what my husband did walking me down the isle along with being our cake topper. For our dance we kept it simple, but fun with me running to him and a huge jump where he caught me at the end. πŸ™‚ At my best friends wedding their dogs are truly their children so they really showcased them by having them go down the isle along with having them included in the cake topper. πŸ™‚

Number #4: Make Your Own Personal Vows

Everyone’s favorite part of our wedding was our vows we decided to write about things we enjoy about our relationship along with what we were looking forward to, more of a personal note that we will continue to add to our sand ceremony piece every year with a new note. This I truly enjoy having and looking back on. What made it so special is that we didn’t hear each others until the day of and they ended up touching on one another’s letter that was so special. πŸ™‚ My best friend also decided to write vows to her husband at their wedding and everyone really enjoyed hearing theirs as well. πŸ™‚

Number #5: Treasure Each Moment Into The Night

Some of my favorite moments were at night time where very few people were left, but still a good amount. We had a blast dancing and singing. I can’t help but smile when I think about my husband singing to me “Good Morning Beautiful” that he sung to me every morning we woke up on the dance floor while we swayed backΒ and forth. I remember being so caught up in the moment smiling at him while he sang to me and at the end everyone just cheered and clapped. It’s moments like that where the day feels truly special. πŸ™‚

These are just a few tips and things I learned throughout my experience of being in weddings on all ends of the spectrum. I have more I could include in future blogs. Please let me know in the poll below if you would want more blog posts in the future on the topic. I could talk about everything from picking your dress, decorating, budget, cake testing and creating, DJs, photographer, choosing a gift, etc.

Thank you for reading along with any comments or likes ❀

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Danielle, I wish I could remember all the details of my wedding, besides it being a long time ago, the day itself went so fast. I liked your post a lot, there are so many things to consider when planning a wedding, there are so many “must do’s” at a wedding that is is refreshing when it can be more about what the couple likes…….like you did!
    Miss you, Mary

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Mary I am sure it wasn’t that long ago you still look young πŸ™‚ Thanks Mary! There definitely are and just so much going on in one day you forget about little things that can be super important. Awww miss you too!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

