Family Excursion in Dominican Republic

As a kid waking up on Christmas morning you are excited to open the presents under the tree. I remember being 12 years old, my brother and I had one final gift that we had to open together that was inside a clothing box. Of course, I was assuming we both got clothes, but I opened the box to find my favorite Christmas present. My parents were taking us that February to Punta Cana in Dominican Republic! We were both surprised and excited they had papers inside with pictures and we all couldn’t wait to get there 🙂

Our adventure began February 2005 with an early morning flight at 2am! I was really excited about the flight we were able to see parts of Florida as we passed through. When we stepped off the plane in Dominican I remember the warmness I felt and the beautiful scenery around us..it felt like vacation already! My parents had to fill out some paper forms and then we were shuttled to our resort. We stayed at the Caribe Club Princess Hotel, which was an all inclusive resort so when we arrived we received our wrist bands and as we stood in the lobby you had the most beautiful views of the resort that had three pools and was right on the beach with the ocean. Our first night there was pretty chill we swam in the second pool and had some dinner at the buffet option they had every kind of food you could think of! 🙂

dominican-3dominican-4dominican-9dominican-8

Our second day we woke up, had breakfast and spent the day by the first pool. This one had a swim up bar in it, which was really cool. The bartender Jose was super nice and friendly. They had the best orange juice I have ever tasted! lol Later on that night we went to dinner and explored the resort a little more. We found them setting up for a comedy show that we really enjoyed watching. 🙂

dominican-2

The third day we spent at the beach that was at the resort. It was beautiful- the beach was huge it stretched for miles along the shore with gorgeous white sand and the ocean was blue as can be. That day we swam in the ocean and jumped in the waves- it was a blast! 🙂 We walked along the beach and they had vendors selling beautiful handmade crafts, which is where I got the cute journal where I wrote down my experience each day 🙂 My mom bought some other cute things as well including a sailboat ship that you can place pictures in that I really love.

100_3984

On the fourth day we went on an excursion called Outback Safari. This was one of my favorite things that we did 🙂 We went on the bus with Daddy (the one who told us things) and Uncle (the driver) and explored life on the island to see how the locals live. We were able to see one lady’s house that was amazing to see how differently they live compared to us. We also saw how cocoa and coffee beans were grown along with being able to taste them. After that we drove through Dominican and were able to see some beautiful scenery including mountains. After that they took us to a beach where we were able to go boogie boarding. The whole experience was amazing and is something I would recommend doing if you are able to when going to a new country 🙂

dominican-7dominican-6dominican-15dominican-14dominican-16dominican-12dominican-13dominican-18dominican-20dominican-19dominican-17dominican-21dominican-11dominican-10dominican-5

The fifth day was a little more chill and laid back. We spent some of it at the beach swimming in the ocean and the remaining part swimming in the pool. What we also loved about the resort was some of the food options you could eat at the buffet that had a wide variety of breakfast, lunch and dinner. However, they also had separate restaurants at the resort that had different cuisines including the local cuisine that we tried and we also went into one other restaurant, which I believe was the Italian restaurant. You also have to make reservations when going to the restaurants at the resort, but they were very nice and fun to try. 🙂

On the sixth day we went on another excursion where we swam with sharks and stingrays! This is another thing I recommend trying if you get the chance 🙂 We had a lot of fun going on this huge boat where they took us to a place in the ocean that they had netted with sharks and stingrays inside. I was surprised that I wasn’t as scared as I thought I would be- I was actually more concerned that I wasn’t scared compared to swimming with these dangerous creatures! lol It was pretty fun though I swam in there for a little while and my mom got us these underwater cameras so we were able to take pictures, which was really neat. (Unfortunately I don’t have all the pictures from the trip since my mom kept most of them that she was going to put into the book, but I’m really glad to have the ones in the blog-otherwise I would post some of those as well).

On the seventh day we found some hidden gems while walking around the resort. We found a miniature golf course that we played at along with an ice cream shop that was delicious! My mom also got a massage that she really enjoyed and we swam a lot in the ocean and at the pools. It was a really fun last day 🙂

dominican-1

On the eighth and final day we had our last breakfast at the resort and got on the plane heading back home. We all had a blast on the trip and said we would all go back! 🙂 It was the perfect place to relax but also explore a different culture and try new things. I would recommend this to anyone 🙂

Would love to hear about your favorite international travels in the comments. 🙂

Thank you for reading along with any comments or likes ❤

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Debbie says:

    What a great adventure. Sounds beautiful. You and Jesse look so young!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you it was 🙂 We do lol fun to look back 🙂

    Like

  3. Family trips are always fun. I will never forget our trip to Mount Rushmore, and then headed to Colorado. Looking at pictures from our trip brings a smile to my face!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. They definitely are! That sounds amazing I would love to see Mount Rushmore and Colorado I bet you have some beautiful pictures from the trip 🙂 Thank you so much for commenting Mary 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

